Let’s Go!

After reading these blog posts, my hope is that you are inspired to travel – no matter if you’re a student or not! I also am hopeful that these posts have been beneficial to educate and prepare you for your future travels. Over the last few weeks I have discussed the benefits of traveling, as well as provided information on lodging, expenses, and locations. In addition, I included a personal success story from a student who has experienced the joys of traveling.

I received a few suggestions from some of my classmates to improve my blog posts. One of their recommendations was to include a link to an interactive map, so that readers could select and see their travels in one place. This website, AMCharts, allows you to create maps of the U.S. states or of countries visited. I encourage you all to create maps of your own! My map is located in just the U.S. (so far) and looks like this:

amCharts

Another suggestion which I received from a classmate was to include more of my own personal traveling experience. To be perfectly honest with you all, I have very limited traveling experience. However, I’ve always been interested in and had a desire to travel. In fact, I even had my high school senior photos done with a travel theme (see pictures below). As for the traveling I have done, I’m a native Arizonan, born and raised, and unfortunately have only been out of the state a handful of times. As you can see from the map above, I’ve visited California a few times, Utah once, and Colorado once. While this isn’t necessarily impressive, I have visited several places within Arizona, including Sedona, Prescott, Tucson, Flagstaff, Pine, Strawberry, Payson, Globe, Miami, Glendale, Scottsdale, and Phoenix. In addition to these towns and cities, I’ve also visited the world-famous Grand Canyon. Some of these places I’ve only visited once or twice, but I would say that I visit most of them on a fairly regular basis. It helps that I have friends who go to school in Tucson, and I have family all over the state, so I quite often have reason to travel at least in-state. I understand this doesn’t make me the most credible travel blogger, but remember, I’m a student just like you and I hope to increase my traveling habits soon!

Now after everything we’ve discussed in this blog, let’s go! We all have the tools for success and the ability to do it, so now is the time to do it. I’m incredibly inspired to begin adding locations, states, and countries to my AMChart map, and I hope you are too! I wish all of my readers the best of luck with their travels. Moving forward, I plan to maintain this blog for when I begin traveling. To start, I hope to do a few day trips this summer!

To wrap up this last blog post (for now), let me leave you with a few of my favorite inspiring travel-related quotes.

“I haven’t been everywhere, but it’s on my list.” – Susan Sontag

“Not all who wander are lost.” – J.R.R. Tolkien

“The best education you will ever get is traveling. Nothing teaches you more than exploring the world and accumulating experiences.” – Unknown

Happy travels!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment